Exceptional Children's Program
 

Dr. Doris Hunt
Director for Exceptional Children/504
Post Office Drawer 2909
Lumberton, NC  28359
Phone: 910-735-2220
Fax:  910-671-4353
Email:  doris.hunt@robeson.k12.nc.us
 
                                          Exceptional Children Staff Members
 
Preschool Director
Shining Stars Preschool

Mary Schultz

mary.schultz@robeson.k12.nc.us
Phone:  910-671-4343
 

EC Compliance

Gloria Judd

gloria.judd@robeson.k12.nc.us

Phone: 910-827-4363

                   Base: Lumberton Jr.
 

EC Compliance

Kimberly Branch

kimberly.branch@robeson.k12.nc.us

Phone: 910-374-6675

                  Base: West Lumberton
 

EC Compliance

Karen Jacobs

karen.jacobs@robeson.k12.nc.us 

Phone: 910-374-6687

         Base: Pembroke Elementary
 

Transition Specialist

Delores McGirt

delores.mcgirt2@robeson.k12.nc.us

Phone: 910-374-6228

                 Base: Purnell Swett
 

Transition Assistant

Linda Sealey

linda.sealy@robeson.k12.nc.us

Phone: 910-608-6910

                   Base: Central Office
 

EC Social Worker

Bristol McCormick

bristol.mccormick@robeson.k12.nc.us

Phone: 910-785-0591

               Base: Lumberton Senior
 

EC Social Worker

Shelly Cummings

shelly.cummings@robeson.k12.nc.us

Phone: 910-785-0678

                Base: Red Springs High
 

EC Social Worker

Leslie Hunt

leslie.hunt@robeson.k12.nc.us

Phone: 910-374-7015

                 Base: South Robeson
 

Bookkeeper

Angela McCormick

angela.mccormick@robeson.k12.nc.us

Phone: 910-737-5389

                   Base: Central Office
 

CECAS/Testing

Mary Jacobs

mary.jacobs@robeson.k12.nc.us

Phone: 910-735-2214

                   Base: Central Office
 

EC & AG Secretary

Amanda Bullard

amanda.bullard@robeson.k12.nc.us

Phone: 910-735-2216

                   Base: Central Office
 

Behavioral Specialist

Terrance Curry

terrance.curry@robeson.k12.nc.us

Phone: 910-735-2202

                   Base: Central Office
 

Behavioral Specialist

Kayla Locklear

kayla.locklear@robeson.k12.nc.us

Phone: 910-735-2358

                  Base: Central Office
 

Psychologist

Noelia Z. Caban

 

noelia.caban@robeson.k12.nc.us

Phone: 910-735-2210
Base Central Office




Psychologist

Susan Stephens
Phone: 910-735-2192
Base: Central Office 
 

Psychologist

Lanette Locklear

lanette.locklear@robeson.k12.nc.us

Phone:910-735-2204

                   Base: Central Office
 

Occupational Therapist

Sonia Jones

sonia.jones@robeson.k12.nc.us

Phone: 910-735-2186

                   Base: Central Office
 

Occupational Therapist

Caroline Jolicoeur

caroline.jolicoeur@robeson.k12.nc.us

Phone: 910-735-2194

                   Base: Central Office
 

Physical Therapist

BJ Sanders

betty.sanders@robeson.k12.nc.us

Phone: 910-735-2212

                   Base: Central Office
 

Physical Therapist

Pamela Knutson

pamela.knutson@robeson.k12.nc.us

Phone: 910-735-2188

                   Base: Central Office
 

Audiologist

Dr. Michael Carpenter

michael.carpenter@robeson.k12.nc.us

Phone: 336-834-3112

                    Base: Central Office
 

Audiologist

Dr. Carrie Rowley

carrie.rowley@robeson.k12.nc.us

Phone: 336-834-3112

Base: Central Office

 

 
 

 

Assistant Superintendent for Exceptional Children
 
Tommy Lowry
Post Office Drawer 2909
Lumberton, NC 28359
Phone: 910-735-2331
Fax: 910-671-4353
Email:  thomas.lowry@robeson.k12.nc.us
 
 
WELCOME!
 
The Public Schools of Robeson County (PSRC) provides special education and related services according to the federal mandates of the Individual with Disabilities Education Act and the regulations of the North Carolina Public School Law, Article 9.

The PSRC Exceptional Children's Department serves 4500 students with special needs, ages 3-21. The school system provides a continuum of services to meet individual student needs. Whenever possible students are served in schools in their base attendance area with support from special education and related services and/or building modifications.
 
Shining Stars Preschool offers services to preschool children ages 3-5.  Preschoolers and school age students are identified and provided with appropriate special education services in accordance with the tenets of IDEA.  Prior to receiving special education services from a special education teacher, students are evaluated at the request of the parent, legal guardian, or the child’s teacher to determine if a disability is evident as defined by the North Carolina Department of Public Instruction.

 

Students are evaluated by a licensed school psychologist with the approval of the parent or legal guardian. At the conclusion of all evaluations, results are shared with the parent, legal guardian and teachers at an eligibility meeting in the child’s school. If the evaluation confirms the child has a disability, an individual education program (IEP) is developed with parental input. The individual education program (IEP) specifies the supports and related services needed for the student to be successful during the school day. The individual education program is updated annually or at the request of the parent if needed.

 

The identified Exceptional Student in the  Public Schools of Robeson County receive special services based upon disabilities in these areas:

  • autism spectrum  disorder
  • deaf-blindness
  • deafness
  • developmental delayed
  • emotional disability
  • hearing impairment
  • intellectual disability
  • multi-disabilities
  • orthopedic impairments
  • other health impairment
  • specific learning disability
  • speech or language impairment
  • traumatic brain injury
  • visual impairment including blindness

 

What to do if you are new to Robeson County - Enroll your child in your district.  Bring your child's IEP from the former school to the new school. Give it to the Exceptional Children's Chairperson. We will then have a meeting and implement the IEP as closely as we possibly can.
 
What to do if the school in which your child would normally attend may not have the appropriate setting - It takes a few days to make changes.  The IEP team will convene a meeting to help to determine an appropriate setting.
 
What to do if you do not agree with the school choice - The school choice is determined  by the IEP team.  If you do not agree you will have to contact the Assistant Superintendent of Administration and Technology, Mr. Stephen Gaskin's office at 910-735-2231 for an out of district transfer.
 

The Public Schools of Robeson County, in accordance with federal/state legislation, provides equal employment opportunity for all applicants without regard to race, sex, color, creed, national origin, age or handicap.