Board of Education

The Board of Education of the Public Schools of Robeson County is made up of eleven members, eight of whom are elected by district and three at-large. They are elected on a non-partisan basis during spring primary elections of even-numbered years. Terms are for four years and the Board is reorganized during the first meeting in July.

The Board meets the second Tuesday of each month at 6:00 PM at the Board of Education unless otherwise announced. Public Comment is entertained by the Board by reservation during this meeting.

Due to COVID-19 public health concerns and the resulting Governor's emergency declaration, Safer-At-Home Order, and social distancing restrictions, the public is currently prohibited from physically attending the meeting. As a result, the meeting will be conducted by electronic means. Members of the public will be able to observe the meeting by viewing a live stream broadcast via YouTube.

The Board encourages citizens to share their ideas, opinions, raise questions, concerns or compliments. If you wish to contribute, please complete the Public Comment Form. Public Comments will be submitted along with other documentation digitally for Board Members to review.

The Chairman may interrupt or terminate an individual’s statement when it is too lengthy, personally directed, abusive, obscene, repetitive, or irrelevant. The Board of Education as a whole shall have the final decision in determining the appropriateness of all such rulings. In order to ensure that everyone who comes to speak to the Board has the opportunity to do so, comments will be limited to three (3) minutes. If there is a group who all wish to speak to the Board on the same topic, the group must appoint a spokesperson.

Members of the Board will not respond to Public Comment. Instead, issues may be recorded and may be referred to the proper personnel for follow-­up.




Mike Smith - Chairman
Email: mike.smith@robeson.k12.nc.us

Brenda Fairley-Ferebee - Vice Chairman
Email: brenda.fairley-ferebee@robeson.k12.nc.us

Craig Lowry
Email: craig.lowry2@robeson.k12.nc.us

Randy Lawson
Email: randy.lawson@robeson.k12.nc.us

Dr. Linda Emanuel
Email: linda.emanuel@robeson.k12.nc.us

Dwayne Smith
Email: dwayne.smith@robeson.k12.nc.us

William Gentry
Email: william.gentry@robeson.k12.nc.us

Vonta Leach
Email: vonta.leach@robeson.k12.nc.us

Terry Locklear
Email: terry.locklear2@robeson.k12.nc.us

John Simmons
Email: john.simmons@robeson.k12.nc.us

Henry Brewer
Email: henry.brewer@robeson.k12.nc.us