BOARD OF EDUCATION

The Board of Education of the Public Schools of Robeson County is made up of eleven members, eight of whom are elected by district and three at-large. They are elected on a non-partisan basis during spring primary elections of even-numbered years. Terms are for four years and the Board is reorganized during the first meeting in July.

The Board meets the second Tuesday of each month at 6:00 PM at the Board of Education unless otherwise announced. Public Comment is entertained by the Board by reservation during this meeting.

Members of the public will be able to observe the meeting by viewing a live stream broadcast via YouTube.

The Board encourages citizens to share their ideas, opinions, raise questions, concerns or compliments. If you wish to speak in person during the Public Comment Section, you must sign up in advance using the online form below. The online form will appear on this page only when the sign-up window is open. Alternatively, the speaker can contact the Board of Education Office at 910-671-6000 ext. 3004 to add their name to the list of speakers, or to request further assistance. You are required to sign up by 4:30 PM on the Monday prior to the meeting. This is to allow our staff time to research the issue and potentially provide a resolution and/or more information before the time of the scheduled meeting.

If you wish to contribute, please complete the Public Comment Sign in Sheet.

The Chairman may interrupt or terminate an individual’s statement when it is too lengthy, personally directed, abusive, obscene, repetitive, or irrelevant. Failure to adhere to these guidelines may result in the forfeiture of the remaining speaking time. Individuals who engage in egregious or repeated violations may be asked to leave the meeting. The Board of Education as a whole shall have the final decision in determining the appropriateness of all such rulings. In order to ensure that everyone who comes to speak to the Board has the opportunity to do so, comments will be limited to three (3) minutes. If there is a group who all wish to speak to the Board on the same topic, the group must appoint a spokesperson.

Board members will not respond to individuals who address the board except to request clarification of points made by the presenter.

Except in cases of emergency, information received during presentations will not be acted upon at the time it is received. It will take a unanimous vote of the board members present to take action on a presentation considered to be of an unusual or emergency nature at the time it is presented.

Disruptions by any person or persons of a public meeting will be subject to action in accordance with G.S. 143-318.17: A person who willfully interrupts, disturbs, or disrupts an official meeting and who, upon being directed to leave the meeting by the presiding officer, willfully refuses to leave the meeting is guilty of a Class 2 misdemeanor.

PUBLIC SCHOOLS OF ROBESON COUNTY BOARD MEMBERS 2022-2023

Mike Smith 
Email: mike.smith@robeson.k12.nc.us
District 6

Melissa Ocean 
Email: melissa.ocean@robeson.k12.nc.us
District 2

Craig Lowry
Email: 
craig.lowry2@robeson.k12.nc.us
District 5

Randy Lawson
Email: randy.lawson@robeson.k12.nc.us
District 7

Dr. Linda Emanuel
Email: linda.emanuel@robeson.k12.nc.us
District 3

Tre' Britt
Email: tre.britt@robeson.k12.nc.us
District 8

William Gentry
Email: william.gentry@robeson.k12.nc.us
At-Large

Vonta Leach
Email: vonta.leach@robeson.k12.nc.us
At-Large

Terry Locklear
Email: terry.locklear2@robeson.k12.nc.us
District 4

John Simmons
Email: john.simmons@robeson.k12.nc.us
District 1

Henry Brewer
Email: henry.brewer@robeson.k12.nc.us
At-Large